Frank Rothkamm [ Walkyric Fantasy ]

A piece of piano music that is 3 hours and 34 minutes long, divided into 3 acts, evokes the outer limits of the late adherents to Romanticism, especially Sorabji. Indeed, “Walkyric Fantasy” is meditation on Wagner’s opera “Die Walküre” (The Valkyrie) and shares with it the time durations of acts 1 - 3, whereby the last act is about 10 minutes shorter than Wagner’s. This suggests that “Walkyric Fantasy” remains unfinished, which is another romantic idea or that Wagner had a larger penis. Alfred Adler would tell us that, but he’s dead.

Out the formal constraints of Classicism the practice of Romanticism was born in the early 19th century, a romantic idea that became accepted as historical truth. But as the romantic Adorno would tell us, if he were to be resurrected from the dead, the most romantic idea of the year 2018 is the negative dialectic of the variations that ignore a theme. Indifference to the wound that stabs you is the best defence against suffering from its deadly consequences, as Schopenhauer would tell us, if he were resurrected today, because the Will is a blind force and is tied to the ancient belief that it is the "Valkyrie", supernatural women who decide who gets resurrected.

I could only see all this as the tip of an iceberg and began my long journey to fill Wagner's time frame with a meditation on the piano, a Casio/Bechstein hybrid. Burdened with chronic pain, due to plasma cell cancer which ate my bones from the inside, and the technical limitations of the piano I was only able to record about 8 minute or 5000 note chunks at a time. Strung together and freed of wrong notes they became distilled.

G C Bb Ab C Bb A D Bb G. Do these 10 Pythagorean notes contain the viral DNA of the universe? Are they the eternal recurrence of the same, a formula or even leitmotif? In life, I do not have answers but only questions. Musically, I can tell you that these notes are the start of the “Walkyric Fantasy”.

Catalog No: FLX142 (LN504)
Title: Walkyric Fantasy
Sound Artist: Frank Rothkamm
Visual Artist: Holger Rothkamm
Length: 3:34:50 (12890s)
Composed: 2018
Location: Cologne
Instruments: Yamaha C5 (Salamander Grand Piano)
Release Date: 05/24/2018
Format: Digital
File Under: Solo Piano, Player Piano